Annual meeting of the Polish section of the International Commission of Jurists

The annual meeting of the Polish section of the International Commission of Jurists was held on Friday, 24 April 2015, at the Supreme Court of Poland.

The event included the awards ceremony for “European Judge 2014,” the 14th edition of these awards.

The purpose of the competition is to promote the highest level of work among judges. The awards were based on an evaluation of the reasoning presented in the justifications for judicial rulings issued in 2014. Chief Justice of the Constitutional Tribunal Prof. Andrzej Rzepliński, First President of the Supreme Court Prof. Małgorzata Gersdorf, and Secretary General of the Council of Europe Torbjørn Jagland served as patrons of the event.

Honours were awarded in four categories, for judges from Poland’s district courts, regional courts, courts of appeal, and province administrative courts. The winners in each category were:
• District Courts: Judge Jerzy Rażewski, Włocławek
• Regional Courts: Judge Jacek Szerer, Świdnica
• Courts of Appeal: Judge Marzena Konsek-Bitkowska, Warsaw
• Province Administrative Courts: Judge Dagmara Dominik-Ogińska, Wrocław

Piotr Płachta, chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the Warsaw Bar Association, also took part in the event. In a panel discussion, he pointed out some of the potential consequences for Polish citizens of the European Union’s accession to the European Convention on Human Rights, based on the example of the ruling by the Court of Justice in the Placanica case, as well as the possible overlapping jurisdiction of the Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights.

Udostępnij na: